Phrozen 4k 2022

M

MandyC

Reaction score
Hi all, I am a new grad (dentist),wanting to print my own models for orthodontics and also make retainers. Anyone is using Phrozen 4k? What's your opinion on this machine? Will it be accurate enough to print models for making retainers? Thank you so much for your help.

(I would love to get a Asiga Max UV or the Sprintray 95s but it is just not financially possible at the moment).

Brett Hansen CDT

Brett Hansen CDT

Reaction score
You may want to outsource the printing until you can afford a decent printer. That's what we did when we first got into milling and printing. We outsourced until we had got to the point where it made financial sense to purchase a mill or printer to do those jobs in house.

mightymouse

mightymouse

Reaction score
DLP is on the way out. Look into LCD printers.
As someone who will be in the market to add a more accurate printer to my inventory could you explain why DLP is on the way out? Curious as I was under the assumption that DLP is what you wanted to get.

M

MandyC

Reaction score
Thank you everyone for your input.

Phrozen sonic 4k is around aud$2k
Ackuretta sol is around aud$8k.

I can easily buy the phrozen printer without any issues (heck, I can buy it with my own money). But, I will need to convince the clinic owner to get the more expensive printer (who told me to calculate the ROI etc etc, which is totally fair). He is a hard man to please (lol).

I read somewhere in the forum that the Phrozen printer is better than the "$$$" dental printer, thats why I am considering it. Plus, it is cheap enough that if I decided not to go ahead with 3d printing I can just store it somewhere.

On the other hand, the ease of using the software and support are also important to me because I don't know a lot about 3d printing yet.