• Welcome to Dental Lab Network

    How to copy a waxup denture in EXOCAD for printing?

    Discussion in 'Dental-CAD' started by VincentTC, Feb 1, 2017.

    1. VincentTC

      VincentTC Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Nov 2016
      Messages:
      18
      Likes Received:
      2
      Hi guys,

      Need some help here! How can I Scan or copy a full wax up denture to stl file for printing? In our lab, we have dentalwing scanner and EXOCAD software. Any help will be really appreciate.

      Thanks

      Vincent
       
    2. 2thm8kr
      Devilish

      2thm8kr Beanosavedmysociallife Full Member

      Joined:
      Dec 2009
      Messages:
      9,098
      Likes Received:
      2,414
      Location:
      Suburbs of Hades
      Scan the intaglio surface as jaw scan and scan the occlusal as preop. Merge the two in exocad. This will leave an open border where the two scans meet so you will need to close it to get a watertight mesh. I use model creator in exocad for this.
       
      • Winner Winner x 1
      • Creative Creative x 1
    3. VincentTC

      VincentTC Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Nov 2016
      Messages:
      18
      Likes Received:
      2
      Hi 2thm8kr,

      Thank you! but i think i need to talk to my distributor. I am missing the license the Model creator.
       

      Attached Files:

    4. dmonwaxa

      dmonwaxa Moderator Staff Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Jun 2009
      Messages:
      2,717
      Likes Received:
      245
      Location:
      TEXAS
      Meshmixer??????
       
    5. VincentTC

      VincentTC Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Nov 2016
      Messages:
      18
      Likes Received:
      2
      Hi 2thm8kr,

      I know it has been a while. I finally get the license for the model creator. I have merge the 2 scan together but don't know how to export the stl file out of exocad. Can anyone help me with this?

      Thanks
       
    6. 2thm8kr
      Devilish

      2thm8kr Beanosavedmysociallife Full Member

      Joined:
      Dec 2009
      Messages:
      9,098
      Likes Received:
      2,414
      Location:
      Suburbs of Hades
      What scanner do you have? Some scanners have option to scan both sides of denture. Or maybe you can scan one side and other as another jaw scan and scanner software merges the two scans into one mesh.
       
    7. VincentTC

      VincentTC Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Nov 2016
      Messages:
      18
      Likes Received:
      2
      I have 3d shinning scanner. I scan the intanglio surface, and the preof as the occlusal, I merge them in model creater but can not seem to export the stl file out. how can i finish the case in exocad or export the complete stl file out.

      Thanks
       
    8. 2thm8kr
      Devilish

      2thm8kr Beanosavedmysociallife Full Member

      Joined:
      Dec 2009
      Messages:
      9,098
      Likes Received:
      2,414
      Location:
      Suburbs of Hades
      If they are merged, then use file explorer to navigate to the patient folder in exocad database. Find the stl file there. Should be named ?-model base.stl or something similar.

      File path would be:
      C:/exocad/CAD-DATA/
      what ever the case number or patient name or date started depending on how you have Dental DB configured.
       
    9. VincentTC

      VincentTC Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Nov 2016
      Messages:
      18
      Likes Received:
      2
      There is nothing in the Cad data folder. I think it did not merge corretly, here is the picture of the case.

      Thanks for helping me.
       

      Attached Files:

    10. VincentTC

      VincentTC Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Nov 2016
      Messages:
      18
      Likes Received:
      2
      I think i got it. I just need to save the file as a stl not a scene file.

      Thanks
       
      • Like Like x 1
    11. VincentTC

      VincentTC Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Nov 2016
      Messages:
      18
      Likes Received:
      2
      2thm8kr,

      Maybe you can help me with another problem. How can i copy a waxup crown or bridge? We have a lot of adapt to partial case and it is easier for us to copy a wax up then scan the partial. We also like to copy a anterior waxup bridge. How can i do that in exocad? Again i really appricate your help.
       
    12. zero_zero
      Drunk

      zero_zero Well-Known Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Mar 2013
      Messages:
      4,351
      Likes Received:
      1,373
      Location:
      Canuckistan, eh!
      Very simple, just follow the wizard and you're ok. Make sure the die doesn't move between the scans.

      Untitled.png
       
      • Like Like x 2
    13. 2thm8kr
      Devilish

      2thm8kr Beanosavedmysociallife Full Member

      Joined:
      Dec 2009
      Messages:
      9,098
      Likes Received:
      2,414
      Location:
      Suburbs of Hades
    14. VincentTC

      VincentTC Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Nov 2016
      Messages:
      18
      Likes Received:
      2
      thank you
       
    15. VincentTC

      VincentTC Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Nov 2016
      Messages:
      18
      Likes Received:
      2

    Share This Page