Castable resin from 3d printer

Drizzt

Drizzt

Reaction score
Hello all !! I will need some help . I had a file printed with a 3d systems Object 6000 , resin used was visijet e-stone . My question is if the resin is ash free and can be burned out at 800 degrees celcius . Any input is welcome since I have zero experience with printed materials , this was my first . Thanks

Patrick Coon

Patrick Coon

Reaction score
Hello all !! I will need some help . I had a file printed with a 3d systems Object 6000 , resin used was visijet e-stone . My question is if the resin is ash free and can be burned out at 800 degrees celcius . Any input is welcome since I have zero experience with printed materials , this was my first . Thanks

Good Morning Drizzt!

My experience with working with printed patterns and talking to others that use printed patterns is that most are suitable for pressing or casting. The main issue with them is that they should be burned out slowly from a cold oven. If put into a hot oven the resin will expand quickly before melting and will cause the ring to crack. Here is the program I suggest that I know works well for me:

5C per minute to 250C and hold for 30 minutes
5C per minute to 850C then hold as you would for the ring you are using (45 minutes for a 100gr, 1 hour for 200gr) adding 15minutes for each ring after the first two.

Hope this helps!

JKraver

JKraver

Reaction score
I know there are some semantics about the temp of a cold oven under 200c or something is considered a cold oven. I am not sure where I have heard this you mean room temp?

Patrick Coon

Patrick Coon

Reaction score
I know there are some semantics about the temp of a cold oven under 200c or something is considered a cold oven. I am not sure where I have heard this you mean room temp?