CAD-SCAM, help me understand

Jo Chen

Jo Chen

Reaction score
I work in a lab retooling to CAD and I am not impressed with the results. New technology should be better, faster and cheaper. We use 3shape for scanning. Wieland mills, D4D and the CEREC mill. Envisiontek printer and some other printer capable of printing 200 units in one and a half hour.

First the quality: The printed copings once cast fit badly and require more time (25%) to seat than hand waxed units.

Second speed: Spending extra time to seat the copings erodes the speed factor.

Third cost: 3shape scanner $35000 to $40000 for a scanner not tied to a milling center. Mills and printers how much? Employees to work the scanners, printers and mills. Profit margins are thin to begin with, how can a small or even medium size lab be profitable with this set up? Let alone good quality.

Would you rather have Al make a crown for you or CAD-CAM? Sometimes I sense a consensus that members on this forum would prefer pressed e.max over milled e.max. Why are we like lemmings jumping on the CAD-CAM bandwagon? Some on this forum seem to have it figured out (***).
Please enlighten me

DMC

DMC

Banned
Reaction score
I passed on every system out there for years and years.

The 3M Lava Systems has a great complete package, and it was $$ at the time. I really thought I needed it.

The software is now a little behind, and will never be any better. It's done.

The scanner data and final results are still the best out there by far.

3x better info (scan data) than a 3shape scanner to start off with.

Are you unhappy, or are your customers unhappy. Who do you work for?

Why do you work?

Do you have a 3D Systems printer?

I know plenty of labs that make it work, and make $$.

DMC

DMC

Banned
Reaction score
I buy a lot of used equipment.

I pass on all service agreements.

I void all warrenty. I cheat.

I need to make $$ God Damn it!!!

If you play the game....you will not gain. Those are the rules.

I didn't make'em....