Milling machines(My take on it)

NicelyMKV

NicelyMKV

Reaction score
Please correct me if I am wrong. This is my view so far on the need for certain milling machines over others. Im a newbie in this area so guide my if necessary. I am using the Roland DWX-50(just got one) as my example due to all the back and forth.

Lexus is 250(Roland DWX-50)
Subaru WRX STi( Mills costing over $50,000 that can mill alloy etc)

Typical drive from point A to point B within city limits. The Lexus or WRX are both limited by the speed limits( material and bur limitations) of the particular road you are traveling. Both vehicles are capable of much higher speeds and maneuverability but it does not matter due to speed limitations set by the governing bodies( Zr, Wax, pmma and the burs used.) So, why spend 60 grand on a mill for Zr, wax or pmma? The Roland will mill at the same speed as those mills using the same Cam software.... so explain to me why people are spending the big bucks?

Now, if you are going to race in the 100 acre wood rally( milling alloy) then you will definitely need the properly equipped Subaru WRX STi( more expensive mills) over the Lexus is250(Roland DWX-50)

But other than that, I see zero benefit? Servo motors over stepper motors? They mill at the same speed? Servo may be beneficial in situations where your milling extremely tough material(alloy) to continually calibrate positioning but for Zr? or Wax? People are getting thousands of units out of the Roland with zero issues. I think there is a lot of miss information being generated about the spindles etc. The Roland is running at 1/3rd is capabilities to mill Zr etc. The material itself cant handle any more. It would trash the material if it sped up. Thats a material limitation, not the machine. I really want to understand why people insist on spending so much more money and why a very few continue to knock the Roland?

Please correct me if I am wrong with actual Facts.

Thanks,
Jason

Drizzt

Drizzt