Left-Handed Equipment Problems

L

lil_leftee

Reaction score
Hi, I have some left-handed technical problems if anyone can help..

Alright, I'm a left-handed technician that's been having problems using right-handed equipment..

The biggest issues would be High-Speed Handpieces and Burs designed for right-handed people.. I've been working around it for a while by using the hand piece and cutting away from my direction. That's not to say that it's super comfortable -- it's a major pain to do it this way, I can't achieve maximum precision, but I get by minimally. However, now that I want to learn how to prep implants, I've come to a roadblock. I honestly can not cut them correctly with perfect precision using this method..

For the regular electric hand-piece, it was always fine for me since most have the ability to reverse direction, but for High-Speed Air based-Handpieces, I can't seem to find a left-handed version or an alternative solution to my problem. That also includes burs that are designed for right-hand.

I've been working in metal/crown bridge for 2-3 years now so I don't think trying to learn how to use it right-handed now would be something that's achievable at this point for me due to habit and comfort. I most definitely require left-handed equipment..

Additionally, if any of you fellow technicians out there are left-handed, may I ask how you go about dealing with these similar problems I face?

A

AL1

Reaction score
I know there are left handed dentists so there must be left handed high speeds.
I too am left handed but I dont use a high speed.

Wyolab

Wyolab

Reaction score