• Welcome to Dental Lab Network

    Imes Icore 250i crowns too thick and weird occlusion

    Discussion in 'Dental-CAM' started by drstranger, Dec 6, 2017.

    1. drstranger

      drstranger New Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Sep 2017
      Messages:
      26
      Likes Received:
      2
      Hi,
      I am just setting up my Imes Icore 250i machine and since i moved it from one place to the other i have weirdly deep lines in the occlusion. I noticed that the crown are way too thick as well.
      A coping I milled was supposed to be 0.3-0.4mm thick, but the milled coping is in some parts 1.3mm thick(occlusally) and 0.5-0.6 from the sides.
      What could be wrong? I am using SUM3D for the calculation.

      Cheers
       
    2. 2000markpeters

      2000markpeters Active Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Feb 2013
      Messages:
      246
      Likes Received:
      68
      Location:
      Toronto, Canada
      Calibration may have gone off during the move. Re calibrate
       
    3. hdlc

      hdlc Member Full Member

      Joined:
      May 2013
      Messages:
      30
      Likes Received:
      4
      Location:
      Auckland, New Zealand
      Do the Zero point and B- axis calibration as well. You can use the milling wax to do that, it works just fine.
       
    4. JMN
      Curious

      JMN Christian Member Staff Member Donator Full Member

      Joined:
      Sep 2012
      Messages:
      7,337
      Likes Received:
      1,617
      Location:
      In a surprisingly solid sea of electrons
      Dude, you need to put that on t shirts and sell them in Florida
       
      • Like Like x 1
      • Creative Creative x 1
    5. 2thm8kr
      Devilish

      2thm8kr Beanosavedmysociallife Full Member

      Joined:
      Dec 2009
      Messages:
      9,198
      Likes Received:
      2,442
      Location:
      Suburbs of Hades
      Funny from someone in Appalachia.
       
      • Like Like x 2
    6. JMN
      Curious

      JMN Christian Member Staff Member Donator Full Member

      Joined:
      Sep 2012
      Messages:
      7,337
      Likes Received:
      1,617
      Location:
      In a surprisingly solid sea of electrons
      Denture techs don't get creases, we get characterized.
       
      • Agree Agree x 1
    7. 2thm8kr
      Devilish

      2thm8kr Beanosavedmysociallife Full Member

      Joined:
      Dec 2009
      Messages:
      9,198
      Likes Received:
      2,442
      Location:
      Suburbs of Hades
      I was thinking 'weirdly deep lines' as in genetics.

      v3SmjzO.jpg
       
    8. JMN
      Curious

      JMN Christian Member Staff Member Donator Full Member

      Joined:
      Sep 2012
      Messages:
      7,337
      Likes Received:
      1,617
      Location:
      In a surprisingly solid sea of electrons
      A few decades ago in a nearby county courthouse:
      Joshua "lyin' Josh" Mullins was on the opposite side of a dispute from Joshua "honest Josh" Mullins, who's side lost.
      Can't make this stuff up and be believed, only reality gets this weird.
       
    9. drstranger

      drstranger New Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Sep 2017
      Messages:
      26
      Likes Received:
      2
      I have done the calibration a few times now. The problem still there.
      It looks like the whole upper part of the crown has not milled deep enough.
       
    10. JMN
      Curious

      JMN Christian Member Staff Member Donator Full Member

      Joined:
      Sep 2012
      Messages:
      7,337
      Likes Received:
      1,617
      Location:
      In a surprisingly solid sea of electrons
      Is it usiing all the tools it should?, or skipping one?
       
    11. cadfan
      Amused

      cadfan Well-Known Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Jul 2013
      Messages:
      1,366
      Likes Received:
      211
      Location:
      Germany
      Which accuracy has your cal lipper for calibration check less than 10 micron repeatability ??
      Run a simulation and check you can although run residual simulation or upload the cam file
       
    12. drstranger

      drstranger New Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Sep 2017
      Messages:
      26
      Likes Received:
      2
      Hi, I've got this cheap standard metal caliper at the moment, but i will get a more accurate one in a few days.
      I had the same problems with the last few crowns. Exocad shows a 0.2 thickness and in reality it is 0.6.
      I will upload the cam file after this weekend, I am very busy at the moment.
      Another thing I noticed is that in SUM3D in the tool archive the 6mm ZR tool has a diameter of 3mm. Is that normal?
       
    13. user name
      Question

      user name Well-Known Member Donator Full Member

      Joined:
      May 2010
      Messages:
      5,016
      Likes Received:
      1,437
      I don't know Sum3D, but your thickness thing..

      Are you designing something .2mm thick? That's pushing it too far. Im guessing when you click on to finish its enforcing minimum thickness. Check your settings in DB.
       
      • Like Like x 1
    14. 2thm8kr
      Devilish

      2thm8kr Beanosavedmysociallife Full Member

      Joined:
      Dec 2009
      Messages:
      9,198
      Likes Received:
      2,442
      Location:
      Suburbs of Hades
      The radius of a 6mm tool is 3mm.
       
      • Like Like x 2
    15. drstranger

      drstranger New Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Sep 2017
      Messages:
      26
      Likes Received:
      2
      I have just designed it with 0.2mm for a test. When I designed it with 0.5mm it was 1mm thick.
      Yesterday I milled two emax anterior crowns, which looked like teeth from a rabbit, they were way too high. I had to grind it two millimeters down.
      The crown bottoms fit perfectly, just the length is odd.
       
    16. JMN
      Curious

      JMN Christian Member Staff Member Donator Full Member

      Joined:
      Sep 2012
      Messages:
      7,337
      Likes Received:
      1,617
      Location:
      In a surprisingly solid sea of electrons
      Gonna sound like a jerk, but... Not all pucks are symmetrical, so are they going in the holder with the correct side up

      Just wondering if you did a hard 15 minute power cycle on it after getting everything plugged in at the new place. Weirder things have happened.
       
    17. drstranger

      drstranger New Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Sep 2017
      Messages:
      26
      Likes Received:
      2
      The last few days i did the zero point and B Axis calibration. The crowns are still the same.
      The crowns have this thick margin that is not on the cad design.
       

      Attached Files:

      • Optimistic Optimistic x 1
    18. cadfan
      Amused

      cadfan Well-Known Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Jul 2013
      Messages:
      1,366
      Likes Received:
      211
      Location:
      Germany
      @drstranger you changed your min thickness of your crowns by default ?? you have 0.2 normal is 0.4 and without changing in the settings its not possible !!?? show us the stl. !!
       
    19. drstranger

      drstranger New Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Sep 2017
      Messages:
      26
      Likes Received:
      2
      Here is the stl.
      I think it must be a problem with the control software of the milling machine or probably the tool length measuring.
      What's odd is that the calibration copings seem to be ok ( Thickness 0.52mm on top).
      I called Imes-Icore in Germany, but they refuse to help me...
       

      Attached Files:

    20. cadfan
      Amused

      cadfan Well-Known Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Jul 2013
      Messages:
      1,366
      Likes Received:
      211
      Location:
      Germany
      looks like measured stl is as thinn as expected. i can only speculate a bit i think you have to wait for their support ( imes) sometimes lame ducks their calibration way is very error prone and i dont know what happenes if cnc controller got a few times wrong zero point measurements using inaccurate tools or making mistakes.check your measuring tool at for example deep-drawing films 0.1 and 0.6 too not accurate but ok
      you milled only the calibration part in the center or position 3 and 9 too ?? what about the wall thickness short and long
       

      Attached Files:

    Share This Page