Career Advice

S

Shape Dental

Reaction score
I need some career advice.

I work at a smaller location lab that is part of a large national Dental lab.

I have been doing this for about 15 years.

I have done every job in the lab. Delivery, models, waxing, metal finishing, polishing, build up porcelain, grinding porcelain , glazing, taking shades, scanning, designing. I can pretty much do it all.

I'm currently scanning and designing because that's where I saw the future of the dental lab. I have been doing strictly CAD for the past 4 years.

The problem I'm having is that ownership does not want to the smaller lab to purchase the CAM. They want the smaller labs to outsource to the lab that does have all the CAM capability’s.

For the first time in the business I feel stuck. .I'm pretty efficient with the CAD part and as many of you know, it takes a lot less time with the CAD I find myself with too much spare time.

I'm not really sure there is a future here if all I do is scan and design and send it somewhere else to be made. I would like to do the CAM part so I could at least see myself being productive and fulfilled.

As it stands right now I feel as though I could be part time.

Is this a sinking ship situation?

R

Ryan Gottlieb

Reaction score
That's an impossible question to answer without knowing more but If you are feeling unfulfilled now, I don't think that simply adding a mill will fix that.

For what it's worth, we're hiring :)

RileyS

RileyS

Reaction score
Have you started to analyze the rest of the lab and find out what areas could use more help? Maybe look at the whole lab and find out how to be more productive and efficient and write up a report and give it to your boss and the national lab. Maybe work your way into management?
If you have the skill and personality start your own lab?

S

Shape Dental

Reaction score
Thanks for the reply's.