Stain Technique help

JKraver

JKraver

Reaction score
I am having issues with being able to see the individual particles of stain under magnification. I look at other labs crowns doing the same thing and cannot see the individual particles. What am I doing wrong? I use Ivocolor and Lusterpastes.
I use a programat 310
Zirconia
50c/min
vac from 400c -824c
825c max hold 1:30 I know this is too hot it seems to turn out better than when I run 770c.
Emax
50c/min
vac from 400c -770c
max 770 hold 2:30
I am a denture technician with some experience in crown and bridge educate me.

rkm rdt

rkm rdt

Reaction score
Try doing just a stain bake first and have a look.
I'm not quite sure what you mean by particles.specks?

Car 54

Car 54

Donator
Reaction score
As long as the stain looks smooth and uniform, who's going to be looking at your crowns in vivio with a microscope? It will only be seen at a seating the crown distance, and at a normal conversation distance.

Last edited:
JMN

JMN

Christian Member
Reaction score
I am having issues with being able to see the individual particles of stain under magnification. I look at other labs crowns doing the same thing and cannot see the individual particles. What am I doing wrong? I use Ivocolor and Lusterpastes.
I use a programat 310
Zirconia
50c/min
vac from 400c -824c
825c max hold 1:30 I know this is too hot it seems to turn out better than when I run 770c.
Emax
50c/min
vac from 400c -770c
max 770 hold 2:30
I am a denture technician with some experience in crown and bridge educate me.
Can you see the specks before you put them in the furnace? If so your stain may not have enough liquid mixed in well enough to wet the material. Or it might simplly be out of date or have had too much time in the wrong temperature. Just thinking out loud as much as anything, but that's what I'd check.

JKraver

JKraver

Reaction score
Car 54
It is not noticeable flaw for the patients. My brother(the dentist) says he hasn't seen this anywhere else.