Zir Monolithic Bridges

Brett Hansen CDT

Brett Hansen CDT

Reaction score
I have a relatively new doctor to our lab that restores almost all her posterior crowns with Zir Monolithic. I have about 2 years experience designing monolithic crowns on our Dental Wings 3 Series scanner. She recently sent me 2, 4 unit, monolithic posterior bridges. My first question is, do you guys charge more for monolithic bridges per unit than you do for single unit cases? The second question is, what kind of results are you getting on your monolithic bridges. I am either not good enough, or my scanner software isn't good enough, or both. I am not happy at all with the way these bridges look after I finish designing them. Trying to close the cervical embrasures ends up stretching the teeth and makes them look unnatural. I guess I want to know if it is me that needs more training with this scanner/software, or maybe I am asking more out of the DW software than it can actually do. Thanks in advance for any input.

Sevan P

Sevan P

Reaction score
No extra charge for mono bridges, do you charge extra on your PFM bridges? Mono bridges can look a bit funky, maybe you might need to dial in you infiltrating on the pontics, more ZR and can cause a darker color outcome if not careful. There are a lot of variables that come into play on bridges. As for the cervical embrasures You can add pink porcelain if needed but it all varies from design to design. I sometimes will fill the embrasures up if my connections between the teeth are not adequate enough just to make them a bit more beefy.

Can you post some screen shots or images?

Sevan

ParkwayDental

ParkwayDental

Reaction score
This is a photo of a Bruxzir Bridge we have done. We have done full round house bridges and we get a consistent result all the time. We charge a normal FCZ fee plus a bridge connection fee that is just us. The photo on the bottom is FCZ all the way around except for we layered our pink porcelain!