Trios and Printed models

S

Surfer87

Reaction score
hey there,
im a dentist and i want to know how your experience is regarding intraoral Scanning und printing the models. Especially for implant models. I want to transfer the situation in the mouth in the best way into the lab. so i would like to scan intraoral and send it to the lab to Print the model. How is the accuracy especially for multiple implants or implant bridges?
Thanks!

richmc2

richmc2

Reaction score
Welcome to the forums Surfer87. I would ask your lab, because a lot depends on their capabilities, experience and tolerances. I think many would accept a Trios scan for one or multiple implants, especially within one quadrant, while other labs require an impression on implant cases, especially as the case or the bridge gets larger.

In the early days of intra-oral scans, we saw some pretty distorted full arches. However, today most intraoral scanner manufacturers, supported by a number of studies, would tell you this is much less of a problem, especially with proper training. Also, while some labs work with high-precision very accurate printers, they don't all have the same equipment -- so even if the scan is perfect, the printer your lab is using may not be.

Inclusive Magazine published this successful full arch digital implant case study a few years ago, but I think Glidewell's policy is they still don't accept intra-oral scans for full arches: http://glidewelldental.com/educatio...-full-arch-implant-restorations-a-case-study/

There are many academic studies supporting the accuracy of intraoral scans going back many years, but I think this is a pretty good recent study from last year, used 20 patients and iTero scanners: http://journals.plos.org/plosone/article?id=10.1371/journal.pone.0157713