Repair

D

DPS

Reaction score
hi friends

I have a couple of questions around fracture repair of complete dentures. I'm still a student so excuse me if things I'm gonna ask are self- evident.

1.First of all , why do we need to pour a cast into the denture ( in cases that the base is broken ) ? can't we just sticky wax the pieces and apply acrylic ?

2.In the pictures below (D) the cast does not include all of the ridge areas . why is that ? why do we need to block out that much ? of course the purpose of blockout is to prevent fracture of the cast but this sounds too much .

3. in what cases of fracture do we need an impression ? what impression material ? is it always pick-up impression technique ?

4.what are the cases in which repair is impossible ?
5. in case of non-separated fracture , is there a way to fix without opening the crack ?

please also explain the type of repair that is done with flasking.

sorry too many questions:)

I would appreciate any tips and tricks, pictures ,… you recommend around this topic.

Attachments

• 2016-02-25_19-51-58.png
    2016-02-25_19-51-58.png
    354.8 KB · Views: 69
Last edited:
JTG

JTG

Reaction score
Please remember that in the end this is all about the patient. It is our job to repair an appliance so that is done in the best, most correct way. If we cut corners, then not only have we failed the patient, but we have also failed ourselves, the dentist, and this industry. It always takes less time to do it right than to do it twice. So let's begin...

1. If you sticky wax the pieces together, what are you using for an impression? You would just have a denture that you would be adding acrylic to, with nothing on the tissue side? You have to have some kind of impression to help control where the acrylic goes, to make sure it is only in the area you want it and not altering the tissue side of the denture. Also, putting wax in hot water in a pressure pot is not the best idea.