Office fire from Kerr Steamer

• Thread starter Jack Wilson DMD
  • Start date

Any one else had a fire from a Kerr steamer besides John Wilson and me, John(Jack) Wilson

• Total voters
J

Jack Wilson DMD

Reaction score
I am a dentist and bought a Kerr Touchsteam steamer several months ago, It was made in Italy, serial number in the 3,000's. 3 or 4 weeks ago one of the rocker switches on the front of the unit shorted out and almost burned my office down. We caught it just in time and I put the fire out with a fire extinguisher. When the assistant opened the door to the lab she thought the lights were out because it was so dark from smoke. Our building has smoke detectors in the HVAC system, and is sprinkled, but no smoke detectors in any of the living space (yet). I had the AC vent closed because it gets cold in the lab so the smoke did not get picked up by the return air until we opened the lab door. By that time the handle on the top of the unit had folded over 90 degrees and the black hose had a plastic drip running down the side of the unit. I put out a 12 inch high flame putting out black smoke which I think was the plastic site glass. The fire dept measured the temp of the cabinets and they were almost hot enough to catch fire, and I was dumb enough to have monomer in them.

Kerr recalled serial numbers 0-2000, and all of these were sold to the military. We have looked and can not find any other recalls, I saw John Wilson had a similar unit catch fire. I just wanted to warn anyone who has one of these it could be a problem. I am not sure of all the facts and if any fixes have been done to the units, but it seem funny that only units sold to the US government have been recalled, and none to any one in the private sector. Kerr and Travelers insurance are looking at my unit now, but my electrician friend said it was obvious the switch shorted out.