Looking for advise on the best way to get started after thirty-seven years in C&B.

B

Big_Rick

Reaction score
As stated in the title, I have been doing C&B since I graduated in 1976. Went to work for my father and stayed with him for twenty years then launched my own lab. Now, with the still slow economy, I think the best way for me to grow my business is to start doing dentures. The accounts I have asked are encouraging me to do it, stating they will definitely send work. That being said, what would you, my adopted gurus suggest as the best way to get started correctly.

I have watched many hours of videos on youtube and have read Dr. Sowters book Removable Prosthodontic Techniques. To date I have had no hands on experience. Thank you!

I am a one man lab.

Last edited:
nvarras

nvarras

Reaction score
Boucher's prosthodontic treatment for edentulous patients is another good read. Take some hands on CE courses and start slow until you develop a comfort level with the materials you are going to use which brings up another point....what materials are you going to use and what kind of removables do you want to offer that will to some extent determine your materials.

Marcusthegladiator CDT

Marcusthegladiator CDT

Reaction score
How you gonna get it all done by yourself?

Your answer should be,
"Very Carefully."

AJEL

AJEL

Reaction score
The economy may be slow but removable has not paid what C&B has since the 60's, are you sure you want to do the work required, dentures are a lot more work for quite a bit less return.
I have had several C&B techs come here, they don't like dealing with 28 empty spaces and then they don't like how little it pays. Most of them had no concept of curve of spea or wilson let alone balancing compensating arches.
Big-Rick where are you located?

Last edited:
lcmlabforum

lcmlabforum

Reaction score
My removable guy (one of them) is trying to retire after many years and
cannot find buyers to take over even though he has lots of clients.