Is it time to start my own lab? What kind of advice can u give?

Heidi

Heidi

Reaction score
I've dreamed for years of starting my own lab, I have been in the business for over 10 years, I have done it all (except casting). I specialized in ceramics and implants over the years. I have found that I am very picky and usually more critical of my work than anyone. I have the money to start, the drive to never give up, I have lots of sales and marketing experience and I have a building to do so, I have accounts that have followed me in the past, I just am a little frightened about taking the final "jump" is there anyone who could maybe give me some advice, things they wish they had done when starting their lab? Mistakes they made? How many accounts would someone need to start? Or gross $? Thanks

Affinity

Affinity

Donator
Reaction score
You will find all that information and more on several threads here.. i will make a short list of what i think is important to me, after owning a lab for 10 years.
-do you have the time? Unless you get a scanner you will be spending 14-16 hrs a day in the lab.. almost everyday to start.. significant others and children seem to have a problem with that. .
-do you know anything about running a business..? not a dental lab. Two different things. The e-myth is a must read.
-if you want to know if youre any good, (even if you dont care what others think) post some of your work here, everyone plays nice. This is critical when you're on your own.. which brings me to my next..
-find a mentor. (Or lab guilds are all the rage these days) Business or lab related. Preferably both. .but a one man lab is a lonely road save for the techs you know and can learn from. The learning curve rises much steeper when youre on your own. Ask me how i know..
-are you a problem solver? Because equipment breaks and problems arise almost daily that need a solution and your livelihood depends on a quick solution.