Always fascinated...

R

RJS8669

Reaction score
Had a ceramist fly in for a Saturday morning interview. Supposed to be at the lab at 8 am. Finally walks in at 8:20 (first red flag). With his brother, who asks to stay for the interview (second red flag). Ok, odd, but I decide to roll with it. We sit in the office and talk about expectations for a few minutes then head back to the lab so dude can build up and contour a couple of cases (3units). Brother tags a long and starts examining some pans in the ceramics room. So, I asked him what did he do for a living? "Oh, I'm a cad technician down the street for one of your biggest competitors." Really? So I told him to leave, which he did after a little posturing. (Third red flag)

Dude proceeds to take 4 hours to complete 2cases (2centrals on one and a molar). Ceramics is very artful and pretty but morphology is off - over contoured. So I tell him I need some time to think. In the meantime, I ask him to provide an address where I can send a check to reimburse him for the flight. He gets this look on his face and says "I want money now". Sorry I don't have that much cash on me and I don't have any checks. I explain that the bookkeeper writes all the checks and she will be in on Monday. Give me an address and I have the check to you ASAP.

"You don't like me. You not going to pay me".

Huh?

At this point I kinda lost it a little. He says I'm "unprepared". I say "you were 20 minutes late; you brought a competitor into my lab without notification of who he really was; and you took 4 hours to do 3units AND I'm unprepared? I told him he needed to leave immediately. Not used to have my integrity questioned.

An hour later I get a text "I hope you liked my work. Looking forward to hearing from you."

Sure. Sit by the phone and wait....

Doris A

Doris A

Solutions
Reaction score
Tell him to go to work with his brother down the street!

PDC

PDC

Reaction score