Thoughts on new Nobel biocare scanner?

RileyS

RileyS

Reaction score
So the new Nobel scanner just found it's way into our lab. Done a few scans for coping, bridge, abut wax up, and abut design. Pretty much NOT user friendly. Wanting to hear some thoughts from others who have it or have tried it. We've had the mod 40 and forte, sirona craplab, I mean inlab, and 3shape which is by far the best of that bunch. This new Nobel scan is at the bottom as far as ease of use goes

JohnWilson

JohnWilson

Reaction score
Have you been to the training in New Jersey?

If you have past cad/cam experience I find it hard to believe that you find this one not user friendly.

I can scan/design/send an abutment off to nobel in less than 7 mins. Seems pretty user friendly to me.

RileyS

RileyS

Reaction score
I've got five years of cad experience and of all those I've listed the new software for nobel is by far the least user friendly for me. It also has the slowest scan times. My first abutments took 10 min in design alone after stumbling through all the "hidden" tools (I guess I'm not used to opening tabs to get access to tools). My first 3shape abutment took just barely 2 min of design time.
Hearing your results is extremely reassuring, I'll just have to get used to it. Thanks for posting.

Toto

Toto

Reaction score
Yes I agree with you -We have the new Nobel scanner and still have the older forte which is alot easier to use- rather disappointed with Nobels new scanner -takes longer to scan and is not very user friendly

JohnWilson

JohnWilson

Reaction score
Its funny,I think its what you get used to, I remember the first bar I designed and how long it took me to do it. Now its like second nature and much faster once its digitized.

Scan times on full arch stuff I agree takes to long but for singles and short bridges/single unit abutments its as fast as anything out there I can assure you that.