Some potentially silly questions...

H

heykrazi

Reaction score
Hi everyone

Despite using these forums as a source of information on-and-off for a while now, I've only just registered and this is my first post!

I'm only new to digital dentistry and am trying to do some research on behalf of our small-ish lab (soon to grow!) to see how best to equip ourselves over the short-medium term.

I have some bits of preliminary information, but there are massive gaps in my knowledge about CAD/CAM systems. I've tried finding the following things out elsewhere, but customer service reps really just rehash the same bits of info found online... hopefully you guys can help! :confused: ... a million questions, I know, but if you can shed light on anything please do :)

1. if a dentist sends us a digitally scanned impression from their Sirona Bluecam AC, can we import that into CAD software (eg. 3shape) that generates an open file that can be used in non-Sirona CAM/mill?
...in other words, are Sirona intra-oral scans 'locked' to Sirona inLab milling machines? or do I have the versatility to mill Sirona dentists' restorations in a milling machine of my choice?

2. the opposite question to the one above: is the Sirona inLab milling machine 'locked' to Sirona scans? eg. if a dentist sends me a Lava COS/iTero scan, and I perform CAD in 3shape/Dental Wings, can I still mill the requested monolithic restoration (eg. eMax) in Sirona inLab MC XL, for example?

3. how can we deal with Lava COS intra-oral scans? can the scans come directly to us where we mark the margins and perform CAD in 3shape, then send the scan on to 3M for model milling, and (potentially) simultaneously outsource the fabrication of metal copings for PFM (if required)? or does the scan go to 3M first, where they mark the margins, and then send the physical model to us?