Is emax and 3G the same... Serious question

D

Drkeller

Reaction score
Dentist breaking ground on your forum but I need an answer.

I just discovered My current lab which I have been using since June 2010 has been using 3G every time I ordered Emax.

This is a problem on several levels but my biggest issue is:
1. The lab should have informed me if the don't use "Emax" but never did
2. Every invoice showed "Eris" listed as the restoration type
3. Im trusting when he says this but would there be a way to test the material if I cut a crown off?

If emax and 3G are identical and both are cementable then I have no issue other than being informed.

I just need to know from you guys. Are they the same or do I need to contact 40 patients for a recall.

Dr Keller

Mark Jackson

Mark Jackson

Reaction score
You lab is breaking the law. They are substituting an FDA 510k material without your permission. Counterfeitng, and material fraud is a serious problem and should be reported to the FDA and even law enforcement if you so wish.

Until people start being penalized for this, it will remain a problem and will get worse. FDA recalls, product failures, allergic reactions and other problems must be tracked and reported and if you ever did observe a problem you would be reporting problems with the wrong product. You asked for, and were charged for one product and given another. Because this is a controlled FDA material, it is a serious breach of trust and outright fraud.

I'm mad, can you tell?

OPC 3G is a lithium disilicate material like eMax, but much cheaper. In fact it was invented before eMax, and Ivoclar was sued when they introduced their material. Rather than settle the suit, Ivoclar took the more aggressive position and bought the whole ceramic part of the company (Pentron). The resin and clinical products were bought by Sybron-Kerr, the alloy business was bought by Argen.