What is the industry standat of ceramic production?

I

imp_l

Reaction score
Hi everybody.
I am a dentist who owns a dental lab in Tel Aviv. I am new to this forum and from reading few posts, i found, there is agreat support from the group members.
can anyone support my asumption that 15 unit of ceramic per day is the industry standart?
Thanks
Ami:)

doug

doug

Reaction score
can you define what you expect for 15 units? is that Build only, Build & Contour, opaque, Bulld a & contour? does that include Stain and Glaze?

I

imp_l

Reaction score
Thank you doug for your quick reply, I mean from the coping to the finished ceramic prosthesis.

C

charles007

Reaction score
Doctor,

Having mostly worked in inhouse labs the majority of my career, I can't give any exact numbers. I can say that 15 units per day can be done, but I would not define it as quality work at all...... There are many techs that can stack 25 to 30 units per day that are already opaqued. Also many that can grind in-contour 10 to 30 units per day that are already stacked and fired.
Many higher end labs make less than 5 units per day. So, to get a better handle on your number of 15 units per day, I would like you to define quality, and the kind of lab your talking about.
I can tell you that you would not want one of those 15 units in your mouth for sure.

Edit: No, I know for sure that 15 units per day is NOT the industry standard per day.
Last weekend at the Atlanta meeting, I watched a 7 minute build up with a clinician that teaches how to stack and contour 20 to 30 per day, but that is not the standard per day in average labs across the country.

Where did you hear this number of 15 per day ?
Charles

Last edited:
rkm rdt

rkm rdt

Reaction score
As a dentist, will you be informing your patients about the volume of work you expect from your technician?

rkm rdt

rkm rdt

Reaction score
I make 15 crowns per WEEK!

O

odchamp

Reaction score