BioDent - three shape and in office milling

L

Loetscher

Reaction score
I am an oral surgeon looking to get the trios scanner and a DS1300 wet 4 axis milling system from BioDent. Has anyone used their set up and have any experience with the company, as far as training, reliability, and functionality of their work flow?

BobCDT

BobCDT

Reaction score
I've been around a long time. Never head of them. They must be new to the market.

rkm rdt

rkm rdt

Reaction score
Come join the Trios Study Club on Facebook as well for any tips and tricks.

I'm sure the good folks on here will have feedback on BioDent.

PearlZ

PearlZ

Reaction score
there arent a lot of good wet milling emax machines out there. if at all possible i would avoid it and go with pressed. or do zirconia.

while i can get fits ok from planmill i don't feel its a great system either.

besides which, you are missing the 3rd piece of the puzzle - the design suite. you can buy a trios and use it to scan, for one flat dongle fee. but the design suite is another animal entirely. they'll bump your yearly fee up quite high. its going to be pretty hairy if you arent pumping out units all over the place.

the trios is great. the design suite is fantastic, best ive ever used. but for wet milling emax its both overkill and overpriced. not an entry level, and not designed for a lone dentist or prostho, trying to make crowns in office in under an hour.

no, for that you'll best be served with the planscan, planmill. its a system designed for you dentists that want to cut lab bills for whatever reason. it actually works with much less effort and tinkering.

but be prepared, because it also comes with a pricetag that will make you second-guess how much youre actually saving on a lab bill.

edited to add: biodent used to be a 3shape reseller, but theyve stopped doing that.

L

Loetscher

Reaction score
I mis-spelled the name of the company for this thread -
The company is actually BIODENTA -- from switzerland

PearlZ