Lab Specializing in Removable Prosthesis

Do complete and partial dentures bring in enough revenue to support a small lab?

• Yes

Votes: 26 89.7%
  • No

Votes: 3 10.3%

• Total voters
Luke

Luke

Reaction score
Hello everyone, this is my first time posting. I am a lab technician with experience in complete and partial dentures. My lab only makes these products. I am testing for CDT certification next month with hopes of using this certification to promote and sell myself to local dentist. I want to own a lab one day and was curious to see how many technicians, if any, have a profit off of complete and partial dentures alone? I currently work for a large scale denture chain that brings in a steady revenue off of these products.

I have noticed that implants are often talked about in these forums. Would you all recommend learning how to do implant cases? I have some experience with MDI (mini-dental implants) but they are not fixed in the patients mouth permanently.

Pat_L

Pat_L

Reaction score
If you keep an eye out for the numbers, you can make a profit in every area of the lab. Removable has less on the supply side for expenses, but the margins can be higher. Small 1 to 3 person labs seem to do ok, and large 6 and over labs as well, but there seems to be an area in the middle where the labour costs exceed the work billed for some reason. We have been around for over 20 years or so, doing removable only. We expanded into fixed at about the 10 year mark, but that was a disaster. (personalities I think, all ceramists are a little crazy) As far as implants are concerned, it's best to know how to do everything, there is no such thing as too much knowledge. Implant supported full dentures are becoming more prevalent, you can always send the bar out to get milled and just do the acrylic work. Best of luck in the profession

droberts

droberts

Reaction score