popularity of cobalt chrome milling versus zirconia milling

P

Paddy

Reaction score
I'm a dentist with an interest dental technology. Can anyone give me an opinion on relative popularity of milled zirconia versus cobalt chrome. Personally, I've always preferred ceramic bonded to cobalt chrome - really nice aesthetics and good ceramic to metal bond strength. Also is you ever need to replace the prosthesis, it's much easier to remove. However, recently I'm seeing some really nice aesthetics with zirconia. Is there an increasing shift to zirconia which will make milled CoCr obsolete? Feedback from technicians much appreciated!

doug

doug

Reaction score
Welcome to the bored!

CoolHandLuke

CoolHandLuke

Idiot
Solutions
Reaction score
milled zirconia versus cobalt chrome
for what, crowns? partials?

one is used almost exclusively over the other, in both applications.

Affinity

Affinity

Donator
Reaction score
Ive seen the pendulum swing back to Drs wanting PFMs after Zr bridges have failed. I do 95% zirconia, the rest is gold crowns or emax, maybe 1-2 pfm cases per year, only because I dont accept them other than when nothing else will work. The bond of porcelain to chrome is undeniable though, if done right. Both break though. And ultimately the excessive time-consuming nature of bonding porcelain to metal/multiple bakes/ shrinkage/ masking gray.. its just not profitable anymore, unless you are willing to pay $400, which I doubt you are.

tehnik

tehnik

Reaction score
I think alternative right now is metal frame with cemented zirconia overstructure. It is both strong and esthetic. But it needs room to be strong.

G

grantoz

Reaction score
i ve been on holiday for a month so i will be nice if your zi crowns dont look better than your cocr porc then change your techo

rkm rdt

rkm rdt

Reaction score
I bet he sends work to Disturbed.

P

Paddy

Reaction score