Orthodontic appliances - help needed

C

Cass

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

My name's Kate and I'm a 3rd year student of dental technology in Poland. It's the last grade of my studies and I have to make a kind of project that allow me to finish my studies. It's a bachelor degree. I have such a problem with translation of my project's subject into English. I'm writing about a group of orthodontic appliances (Quad helix, B helix, NA, transpalatal arch, etc.). Is it any term for this group of appliances?

Please, help me. I couldn't find it in dictionaries, even in the professional one. You are my last resort :)

Greetings from Poland,
Kate

Ps. I'm sorry for making a mess with this stupid post :)

T

tap

Reaction score
Hi Kate
These appliances are used in expanding or widening the arches. I can't think of a one word definition as found in a dictionary--they deal with active movement relying on screws or wire loops to exert forces on musculature, dentition or skeletal components to correct malocclusions. "Activators" wouldn't be an accurate description--those are appliances like bionators, LSU's, Harvold/Woodside. Why do you need a one word definition of this group of appliances? Good luck on your final project.
Tim

C

Cass

Reaction score
Thanks a lot for your reply. I need this word to translate my subject. In Polish we have one word describes these group of appliances. It's something like 'wide arch braces'? If I could use this phrase, the subject would be 'Wide arch braces made indywidually' but it's not a good translation I guess. If it comes to movement, these appliances are usually unremovable.
Greetings

W

wirebender1956

Reaction score
We call them expansion and arch development

Betalab

Betalab

Reaction score