need some advise

B

Baker

Reaction score
Should I look into dental hygein or learn how to process dentures with my father in his Crown and bridge lab?

I am 42 yrs old and really just want to make some $, if you know what I mean.

Can anyone help me out?

And as far as learning to do dentures, does anyone have an idea where I can get the education at. Hopefully in California.
thanx

AmyLouRDH

AmyLouRDH

Reaction score
Hey

I am currently a registered dental hygienist w/ a license in PA. I would be all for you going into hygiene. I have a bachelors but you can go into the field with an associates. The only problem with getting into this field is most dentists like you to have experience, that was the only difficulty I came across when applying for jobs. I love hygiene. I love talking to people and hearing about how their lives change and seeing them lose their primary teeth and get their permanent teeth in. I work in three different offices and I mean different. One office is a high patient load, one office is high tech, and one is both of those put together. I am sure all the dental techs out their know all doctors have their quirks but who doesn't.

On the opposite end of the spectrum my husband is a dental tech and he loves what he does. He owns his own business so he makes his own hrs which is pretty cool. He is a really good artist and I always thought to be a dental tech you have to have artistic ability. I think both would be great fields.

My only thought that :)rolleyes:bear with me don't be insulted;)) with your age you would be close to 45 getting out of hygiene school (2/4 yr school) would you really wanna be 55 yrs old running around a dental office chasing after kids, working someone else's hours and getting bossed around by someone younger than you. A dental tech would have more freedom.

Sorry I am a big talker which in turn means big typer. Whatever desision you make best of luck to ya!:D

Last edited:
Travis

Travis

Nothing to see here