Bridge Advice

C

CShof

Reaction score
My brother lost tooth #6 and the doctor recommended at minimum a 3 unit bridge (5-7) and at maximum a 7 unit bridge (5-11). This is the first tooth he's ever lost and understandably he's very hesitant to make such a drastic change. Being a denture tech I'm unfamiliar with the advantages and disadvantages between types of bridges. What is the consensus on a bridge like the following:
The DAL Monodont Bridge

aidihra

aidihra

Reaction score
I've never made or been asked to make a Monodont bridge. Actually, this is the first time I've heard of it. Personally, I wouldn't want that in my mouth. I don't think it would last long enough. The pressures your brother would put on that tooth will be too much and he would probably end up swallowing it. A 3 unit bridge is much stronger, but there's another choice. He could get an implant with a crown on top which is generally a similar cost to a 3 unit bridge. Also, getting an implant would mean not having to trim the 2 teeth needed for supporting the 3 unit bridge.

L

labdude

Reaction score
I agree on the implant idea. Those can last a lifetime.

DMC

DMC

Banned
Reaction score
Winged Zirconia bridge would look great, but may get loose and need recementing. No prep! Just take your own impression.

My son has one we made. He was born without #7 (same as his grandma, usually skips a generation) Peg-Lateral is also common with us European-type folk.

Implant would be the ticket if money and mouth would allow it.

It'd be a shame to cut-up perfectly healthy tooth structure.

magushnik

magushnik

Reaction score
i personally do mostly c & b work, aidihra has the right idea here, unless the dr see's a reason that his other teeth are going to be in trouble if he's reccomending a 7 unit, my guess is he wants more money with the 7 unit tho : ) it's a shame but ive seen it many times before. go with the implant!!!

TheLabGuy

TheLabGuy

Just a Member
Reaction score