Used technology: opportunity or regret

R

rkycdt

Reaction score
I am knee deep in decision-making and you folks have been immeasurably valuable in helping me understand how to navigate the options. I continue to need your insight...

I have conducted a few searches but not come up with much regarding the viability of used equipment in the digital world. Used analog is pretty straightforward, but there are so many things to consider when looking into used technology. I am hoping to clear up a few questions here:

I am completely new to this and so I understand the value in the training and support that comes with buying new from a good reseller. The biggest question is - is it even worth considering used equipment for someone who has had no experience? Can scanning and design be learned through purchased seminars, online tutorials and trial and error?

If it is worth considering (balanced with the fact that I could plausibly buy into an introductory set by simply writing a check and not having to finance - yet) how old is too old? Can (well maintained, updated) 6/7 year old scanner and software get me through a couple of years or more before upgrading?

And, how easily does this type of thing change hands? Is the support transferrable? I realize this is likely company dependent, but in most cases?

The thought that I could just buy in is very appealing. Would I later regret it?

CoolHandLuke

CoolHandLuke

Idiot
Solutions
Reaction score
is it worth considering used equipment? absolutely. can it be learned through purchased seminars etc, depends on the reseller.

many OEM vendors have machines they refurbish or have bought back from customers who were dissatisfied for one reason or another and whose experience could not be rectified. it happens from time to time.