Root Analog Implants (RAI) - Anybody ever encounter one of these?

T

tuyere

Solutions
Reaction score
I recently learned about root analog implants ( https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Root_analogue_dental_implant ) and I'm intrigued- it seems like a much more elegant and low-impact way to do implants vs. industry standard techniques. It also seems like a very good fit for modern digital workflows that can actually produce a fully-anatomic design within a few hours or days of a tooth being pulled. It doesn't seem to have been commercially adopted in any capacity, and some of the old hats I asked about this had never even heard of the technique.
So, has anybody encountered any of these cases in the wild? Are they limited to a handful of experimental/trial cases? Does anybody have any resources on this technique where I can learn more? Full disclosure that I'm relatively new to this industry so it's possible I've overlooked something obvious and/or embarrassing.

zero_zero

zero_zero

Reaction score
There's no software support form the major players yet AFAIK, unless you are real good with digital process and manufacture... not sure about the legality making these on the lab side either.

rkm rdt

rkm rdt

Reaction score
Do they make a ti base for these?
Asking for a friend’s 3rd cousin.

CoolHandLuke

CoolHandLuke

Idiot
Solutions
Reaction score
Do they make a ti base for these?
Asking for a friend’s 3rd cousin.
no, the whole point is to be zirconia or ceramic. we went over this in some detail a while ago, just a new name.

T

tuyere

Solutions
Reaction score
no, the whole point is to be zirconia or ceramic. we went over this in some detail a while ago, just a new name.