Model Work Time Breakdown

Tom Moore

Tom Moore

Reaction score
I had a time breakdown for C&B model work per step but it has escaped into the place where old hard drives go. Does anyone have this and be willing to share? What percentage would most think the model work would be of total labor costs on a CAD/CAM crown?

2thm8kr

2thm8kr

Beanosavedmysociallife
Reaction score
$0 because I don't do models for single crowns.

JKraver

JKraver

Reaction score
I had a time breakdown for C&B model work per step but it has escaped into the place where old hard drives go. Does anyone have this and be willing to share? What percentage would most think the model work would be of total labor costs on a CAD/CAM crown?
When I worked as a model tech in C+B we charged $200/unit and he said models were worth $15. Everything was pinned and based, so it was nice model work not accutrac or the like.

Tom Moore

Tom Moore

Reaction score
Thanks JKraver.

Using a third of the selling price for direct labor that would make model work 22% of direct labor costs.

Their direct labor costs must have been a much bigger percentage of the selling price.

JKraver

JKraver

Reaction score
15 Models, 5 Wax up, 5 pressed blasted, 35 porcelain glazed out the door

JMN

JMN

Christian Member
Reaction score
<pre>
I've been doing this 8 years and designed my workspace and put indicators and methods that work for me, so adjust accordingly.
(i.e.:pans needing softisse model are pulled out slightly from those having one)

Including cleaning of bowls, spatulas, vibrator, etc.
On Artimax it takes me:
Breakout of impression and separate working from articulator
Quad Walless:

POURING:
Modern Materials' Buff Labstone Opposing:
6 minutes for mix & pour 6-8 models depending on ambient temp(affects water temp by heating supply lines-colder=longer working time)
1 minute Clean excess from buccal, lingual, and mesial with stone now in stiff plasticine state starting w/ 1st model poured to last
Wait...