Gold Crown Problem

A

awmattson

Reaction score
Hello all,
I am a dental student and had a somewhat unique problem. We are casting our own gold crowns for a course, and I (like a lot of my classmates) have a hole in the occlusion where the sprue was. In previous years, the students were allowed to have the lab solder the holes for them. We are not afforded this luxury.
I have experience soldering wires and PCBs, and I was wondering if someone could give me some direction. We are using Midas gold alloy. My soldering iron only goes to about 800F, but I just purchased a micro-torch that I think should get hot enough. We have access to flux.

Thank you in advance for any help!

Edit: It is only going to be used on a typodont, so I'm not worried about it holding up intra-orally. The main concern is to have it blend in and look good... We know one class isn't going to make us half as skilled as you guys in this stuff!

Last edited:
D

DeVreugd

Reaction score
Hello all,
I am a dental student and had a somewhat unique problem. We are casting our own gold crowns for a course, and I (like a lot of my classmates) have a hole in the occlusion where the sprue was. In previous years, the students were allowed to have the lab solder the holes for them. We are not afforded this luxury.
I have experience soldering wires and PCBs, and I was wondering if someone could give me some direction. We are using Midas gold alloy. My soldering iron only goes to about 800F, but I just purchased a micro-torch that I think should get hot enough. We have access to flux.

Thank you in advance for any help!

Edit: It is only going to be used on a typodont, so I'm not worried about it holding up intra-orally. The main concern is to have it blend in and look good... We know one class isn't going to make us half as skilled as you guys in this stuff!