STL files for research purpose

P

Prosthodontics

Reaction score
Dear all,

I am a Prosthodontic Resident in Australia who has just finished his clinical training and looking for a new project to do. Yesterday, I came across a brand new selective laser sintering machine by LayerWise in the Optics department of our University. It is apparently the only one amongst Australian Universities. The machine is setup as a research tool and it is not being utilised anywhere near it's full capacity. They have only printed a few things and no dental prostheses have been printed thus far.

We also have a DMG 5-axis milling machine (not the one specifically designed for dental as I saw in some other photos) that pretty much just sits there for a whole year and not being used. It hurts my head that these million dollar equipment just lies idle while we have a lot of applications of them in Prosthodontics/dentistry.

I would love to trial to investigate printing vs. milling of study casts, single crowns, tooth-supported FDP, RDP frameworks and an implant-supported full-arch framework. However, the problem is that we don't have any scanners like the 3shape nor any Exocad software where the equipment is being held.

I would appreciate if someone can share with me some of their STL files so I can trial the above and put the machine to good use. I know the equipment we have are capable of all dental applications.

The SDL files are not for commercial benefits except really to provide a test-run to see if the current setup is capable of supporting dental uses and hopefully gather some momentum for funding in future research.

Btw, I have attached a couple of images things that were printed and a stock photo of the Ultrasonic 5-axis milling machine that is not being utilised.

Cheers
10549898_10152765667506995_7877665076653133230_o.jpg
10608663_10152765663961995_2103928235394156165_o.jpg
10364198_10152765674896995_866490351536217637_n.jpg

Affinity

Affinity

Donator
Reaction score