Zirconium Titanium Hybrid?

Marylandfarmer

Marylandfarmer

Reaction score
We are new owners of a 3Shape system. We have a D2000 scanner with a Wieland hybrid select mill.

I have some experience with Sirona and Nobel. Starting with a Nobel Mod 40, then a Forte, and we have the newest Nobel scanner. I have designed a lot of titanium bars and custom abutments on Nobel and some C&B on Sirona. I have been through the basic training with Ivoclar/Wieland.

I have very little experience using 3Shape...

I am interested in making a hybrid zirconium/titanium screw retained prosthesis. Where do I start? I am interested in scanning the wax up over the finished frame. Designing a digital copy of the wax up that fits to the top of the frame. Then Mill this design out of PMMA, for a trial prosthesis, or zirconium for the final.

I know this should be possible, just not sure where to start. What 3 Shape module I need to use? I have done this type of thing on other systems for a crown or small bridge. I think they may have called it "Copy cad". When I choose to do this for a waxed up bridge it wants to scan all the dies. I only have one thing to scan for the bottom, the top of the bar.
Thanks for your expertise.
DSCF0397.JPG
DSCF0398.JPG

Sevan P

Sevan P

Reaction score
Welcome to the 3shape world.
Step one: Learn the software.
Step Two: Learn the software even more.
Step Three: Take courses on the more advanced stuff.

This is not going to be a cake walk for you, you have a long hard road ahead of you especially if you don't know the software and what does what.

CAP has IZIR classes on start to finished for all on four cases. Don;t know anyone who does course on the image above.

Modules are able to use Cad Points, so no need to purchase the full module up front. Buy Cad points and have the module open on your dongle and you use points, example trios scan to make a model cost 6 cad points. Or if $$$ is not an object buy the module.