Zirconia vs High Impact Acrylic screw retained bridge

JeffT

JeffT

jeff
Reaction score
Hi all. I have been asked to do a 6 unit bridge on 3 abutments. The bridge will cover from the 14 to the 22.
Patient is a male and has no history of grinding. Span length is unknown at this stage and the implants have not been placed yet.

Dentist wants to know the good and the bad for each type so we can inform the patient and formulate the treatment plan.

These largish jobs are very rare with my client base and I do not have any experience with implant dentures at all. I would have done a Zi bridge with full palatal Zi with Buccal build but not sure about a denture type bridge so am asking the forum for the good and bad of each.
I have a lot of experience with Zi but not with 6 units on implants and knowing that Zi can have its problems I would be happy to recommend an acrylic bridge if it is more reliable and cost effective for the patient with this type of restoration. I would of course seek help from another lab if the patient wants an Acrylic type.

Acrylic is a cheaper option I am told but is it better?

Any thoughts from the forum would be very helpful.

Cheers all
Jeff

zero_zero

zero_zero

Reaction score
Apparently PEEK implant frames are coming into light lately given their good shock absorbing property and bone like flexibility...

ceram1

ceram1

Reaction score
Apparently PEEK implant frames are coming into light lately given their good shock absorbing property and bone like flexibility...