• Welcome to Dental Lab Network
    1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

    Trimmed Solid Model in 3shape

    Discussion in 'Dental-CAD' started by WDL-Cali-Cad-Man, Jan 11, 2018.

    1. WDL-Cali-Cad-Man
      Amused

      WDL-Cali-Cad-Man Active Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Feb 2012
      Messages:
      138
      Likes Received:
      23
      Location:
      Cali-USA
      is there a way to have trimmed solid model in 3shape. i cant seem to find any info on it unless you cant do it. Any help would be great :)
       
      • Funny Funny x 1
    2. CoolHandLuke
      Fiendish

      CoolHandLuke Well-Known Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Aug 2011
      Messages:
      6,850
      Likes Received:
      1,155
      you want to scan a model and work on it without scanning dies?

      scan (or import) unsectioned model.
       
    3. GarryB

      GarryB Well-Known Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Mar 2012
      Messages:
      316
      Likes Received:
      110
      Location:
      Yorkshire in the UK
      If you have ScanitOrtho you can do it. Just scan your model and its there as an stl to export. You can even put a nice base on it if you want and also sculpt.
       
      • Funny Funny x 1
      • Informative Informative x 1
    4. WDL-Cali-Cad-Man
      Amused

      WDL-Cali-Cad-Man Active Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Feb 2012
      Messages:
      138
      Likes Received:
      23
      Location:
      Cali-USA
      i wanted to see if an "ios" scan can be marked and then ditched with no removable dies so the ceramist can see where the margins are on the printed solid. if that make any sense lol
       
    5. CoolHandLuke
      Fiendish

      CoolHandLuke Well-Known Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Aug 2011
      Messages:
      6,850
      Likes Received:
      1,155
      you want a ditched margin on your solid model then? straightforward enough, few options. in your model builder you can choose to create a model with no dies, however to get the ditching, i am confident in saying you can either simply select unsectioned model in the order form, or manually sculpt around the margin with the Minus tool if you are also working not on crowns and copings but temps (for which 3shape will not demand a die cut out)
       
      • Like Like x 1
    6. WDL-Cali-Cad-Man
      Amused

      WDL-Cali-Cad-Man Active Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Feb 2012
      Messages:
      138
      Likes Received:
      23
      Location:
      Cali-USA

      ok. thanks for the info man much appreciated :)
       

    Share This Page