Techs who pour process

S

Stella02

Reaction score
hello,
I'm wondering what's everybodys tips and tricks to make cold cure dentures awesome. the lab I'm currently in does strictly pour partials and dentures, but every so often we get these issues where the stone model some how got shifted and the denture comes out with a shortened verticle or the model somehow got one end pushed in further than the other and it then rocks in the patients mouth.
I'm still new to this way of processing so I'm wondering if I build up the base of the model to make a little step if that will hold it into the hydro better when I go to process or if I grind grooves somewhere so it locks in better.

Anybody have any tips or suggestions???

Flipperlady

Flipperlady

Reaction score
I would have a medical emergency if I saw my model shifted like that. You may want to try microwaving dentures ( 3 min in the microwave) and get away from the pour kind.

S

Stella02

Reaction score
I would have a medical emergency if I saw my model shifted like that. You may want to try microwaving dentures ( 3 min in the microwave) and get away from the pour kind.
Trust me my heart sinks everytime it happens, especially because I'm not the one who messed it up to start, but I'm the one who has to fix it or hear about it. Id try the microwave flasks, but it's not my lab and that's how the owner wants us to process

Flipperlady

Flipperlady

Reaction score
Well in that case it's on your employer. If they are seating the dentures like that, then they know what they are doing (bad work). All you can do is go to continuing ed classes, keep up with proper procedures and keep making suggestions in hope the employer will listen.There are pour systems out there that are of a higher quality but of course it costs more to make.

PS... if it were me, I would rig a stop to make sure the models don't shift, and yes as you suggested make grooves:cool:

Last edited:
K

kytoothdude

Reaction score