• Welcome to Dental Lab Network
    1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

    Sintering Zirconia Q&A

    Discussion in 'Zirconium' started by Brent Harvey, Sep 9, 2015.

    1. thewhitelab

      thewhitelab Active Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Oct 2009
      Messages:
      192
      Likes Received:
      2
      Location:
      Uk
      Hi again,

      Thanks for the fast reply, that must be the problem!

      I was just wondering if either of you could recommend any suppliers of Sintering Beads in the UK?

      Regards,

      ~The White Lab
      http://thewhitelab.co.uk/
       
    2. BobCDT

      BobCDT Well-Known Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Feb 2011
      Messages:
      2,862
      Likes Received:
      517
      Location:
      Stoneham, Ma
      I would calibrate the furnace. In addition, CubeX2 should have high temp of 1450.
       
    3. Brent Harvey
      Thinking

      Brent Harvey Well-Known Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Oct 2013
      Messages:
      388
      Likes Received:
      187
      Location:
      Federal Way, WA
      I know it is late response for this. But i was just thinking and i believe Jensen is in the uk now. They would have sintering beads.
       
    4. ugljanac

      ugljanac New Member

      Joined:
      Jun 2016
      Messages:
      4
      Likes Received:
      0
      Hallo my friend, i have a same problem
      My cubic zirconia looks green and gray, it looks like yours
      How do you solwe this problem
      Thanks
       
    5. ugljanac

      ugljanac New Member

      Joined:
      Jun 2016
      Messages:
      4
      Likes Received:
      0
      My furnace is new, only have 10 firings
       
    6. JMN
      Curious

      JMN Christian Member Donator Full Member

      Joined:
      Sep 2012
      Messages:
      6,473
      Likes Received:
      1,378
      Location:
      In a surprisingly solid sea of electrons
      Sometimes they need a break-in period to fully stabilize, then you can check the temps and adjust accordingly. It was tested at the factory, but since then it's been bounce around in at least three vehicles and been in at least 3 different (non-vehicular) environments.

      and

      Greetings Earthing! Welcome!
       
      • Agree Agree x 1
    7. elpiojoxp
      Inspired

      elpiojoxp Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Jan 2014
      Messages:
      48
      Likes Received:
      2
      Hello dude, I just make this sintering curve:

      Ramp 1: 8° C per minute

      High Temp 1: 900° C

      Hold: 0 hr 30 min

      Ramp 2: 3° C per minute

      High Temp 2: 1450° C

      Hold: 2 hr 0 min

      Cooling Reg: Cool to 400° C in 2 hours and then let cool to room temperature naturally.

      In my experience, all zirconia crows dont look good after sintering, you need to stain and glaze it, and then you can get a good product.

      I cant attach the photos because it said "they are too big", send me you email and I can send you a couple if you want.

      Regards
       
    8. shamalam

      shamalam Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Oct 2007
      Messages:
      22
      Likes Received:
      7
      Need help!! I cant figure out why my bridges are looking opacious on the pontics and thicker screw retained full zirconia crowns! FullSizeR1 (1).jpg FullSizeR1 (1).jpg
       
    9. Brent Harvey
      Thinking

      Brent Harvey Well-Known Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Oct 2013
      Messages:
      388
      Likes Received:
      187
      Location:
      Federal Way, WA
      please let us know your firing cycle and what type of zirconia it is. This will help us allot.
       
    10. Joe
      Blah

      Joe Active Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Oct 2009
      Messages:
      181
      Likes Received:
      22
      Location:
      The Great Northwest
      that's kind of the way it goes with zirconia. Is this a new occurrence? Did they used to be ok?
       
    11. shamalam

      shamalam Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Oct 2007
      Messages:
      22
      Likes Received:
      7
      Sorry about that! Firing on my Mihm Vogt Speed is 1)7/min to 900 (0 hold), 2)10min to 1550(120 min hold), 3) 6/min to 900 (0 hold), 4) 8/min to 200. And yes they used to come out fine before a couple of weeks ago.

      Argen Esthetic Zirconia pucks
       
    12. Joe
      Blah

      Joe Active Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Oct 2009
      Messages:
      181
      Likes Received:
      22
      Location:
      The Great Northwest
      you may have an element that's going bad. We had this happen a while ago. It seems like it wouldn't run at all if you have a bad element, but it could struggle to heat and heat unevenly for a while until it finally dies. You could pop the top of the furnace and carefully pull the elements out to check them.
       
      • Agree Agree x 1
    13. Joe
      Blah

      Joe Active Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Oct 2009
      Messages:
      181
      Likes Received:
      22
      Location:
      The Great Northwest
      also, we got a batch of bad zirconia once. Drove me crazy trying to trouble shoot until we realized all the weird zirconia came from the same manufacturer and the same lot.
       
    14. rookiee

      rookiee Active Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Oct 2013
      Messages:
      114
      Likes Received:
      11
      Guys, anyone using speed sinter cycle for Katana UTML/STML? Just bought cad cam and new Nabertherm speed furnace and I did two crowns yesterday and they seem quite ok but are still a little to opaque. I was expecting more lively crowns then they came out. At least I've seen some amazing crowns from Katana and mine seem average. Any suggestions?
       
    15. grantoz
      Amused

      grantoz Well-Known Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Oct 2010
      Messages:
      1,115
      Likes Received:
      308
      you have been to macdonalds right!, its just like the pretty picture on the wall and then you open the burger box does it look like the picture on the wall ? no. all jokes aside it takes time to master any of these materials and stains it will take time to dial in your firing programs. an easy way to eliminate if you have over or under fired is just check the fit of a 3 unit bridge if the temp is right it will fit .this is an easy starting point particularly if you have already been using the furnace a while and things were going good. greying like i have seen in the photos usually means you have an element on the way out the other thing you should check is the aluminium braided cables connecting the elements as they break down after a while you get poor contact and therefore not enough current to reach the correct temp. i would also strongly recommend that you dont use lower strength zi for bridges i have seen a few break in the posterior.
       
      • Like Like x 2
      • Useful Useful x 1
    16. JMN
      Curious

      JMN Christian Member Donator Full Member

      Joined:
      Sep 2012
      Messages:
      6,473
      Likes Received:
      1,378
      Location:
      In a surprisingly solid sea of electrons
      How new is the furnace? Have you broken it in yet? They do need to get 'burnt in' before they settle to their operating specifications.
       
      • Agree Agree x 1
    17. rookiee

      rookiee Active Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Oct 2013
      Messages:
      114
      Likes Received:
      11
      Yes, I ran that cycle twice. Actually everytime I also get 04-04 error which is described in manual but without explanation. It's just there as configured alarm. The crowns fit ok, they were on final temp as stated in speed program for Katana, I'm just not near satisfied with the result. I will attach the photos, my friend already glazed it and stain it unfortunately but I think you can all see "dead" result. What I've seen on IDS etc I've seen great result with just glaze. I will try "long" program also as stated in manual for Katana blocks. _DSC0488.JPG _DSC0489.JPG _DSC0490.JPG _DSC0491.JPG
       
    18. Car 54
      No Mood

      Car 54 Well-Known Member Donator Full Member

      Joined:
      Nov 2007
      Messages:
      3,697
      Likes Received:
      938
      Location:
      The frozen tundra
      You're right, not as pretty and as trans as they should come out. It looks like to much white stain was applied to the Inc 1/3rd, making it look a
      little white and opaque?

      For the long program, do you mean the 7+ hour (mine is 7:15) program? I haven't sintered one in awhile, but STML for singles were
      coming out great with that program (Programat S1 1600).
       
    19. rookiee

      rookiee Active Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Oct 2013
      Messages:
      114
      Likes Received:
      11
      No, I've used 90 min cycle, please see attached photo. The crowns were stain on margin part and a little blue on incisal, no white stains or similar. So something is wrong I guess. 90min.JPG
       
    20. shamalam

      shamalam Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Oct 2007
      Messages:
      22
      Likes Received:
      7
      I popped it open. They are fine. Im thinking I need to use a separate bridge program. Slower and a little bit hotter at the hold time. Ill let you know what happens. Thanks for that though.
       
      • Agree Agree x 1

    Share This Page