PrecisoCAD first impressions vs. 3shape vs. DentalDings

gatorteeth87

gatorteeth87

Reaction score
So Jensen finally got me rolling with the Preciso software package for our Lava ST scanner and VHF mill and I successfully scanned, designed and milled two crowns on it yesterday/last night, figured I would throw in my first impressions. Especially since I think I gave Jensen a little heat on here a while ago about taking too long to live up to their promises :oops:

First things first, the exocad based scan and design is MUCH better than DentalDings. Scanning is faster, less fickle and the meshing is at least five times quicker than it was in DW. I found the design tools to be a bit limiting but since I have never used ExoCAD before, I should probably hold off judgement until I have had more time with it as I am sure there are lots of tricks that I am not aware of--but right off the bat, I wasn't able to pick up on it quite as quickly as 3shape. Regardless, it is light years ahead of DentalWings. Wow, I have hardly touched this scanner in months because DW was so prohibitive to use/flaky.

The CAM software is completely different and threw me off at first. Setting pins is a little futile compared to the stupid simple VHF software and importing 3shape with STL, it has me manually draw the margin in the CAM software, which is something I am not used to. More work overall I think but the end result is worth it. One other thing I noticed is that I don't think the mill chose the older 2mm tool to rough-in the crowns before it moved to a newer 2mm for pre-finishing. This was a nice feature that was part of an update on my original mill software to save some $$ on tools.