New to IPS e.max - some questions

C

CogSci

Reaction score
Hi everybody,
I'm relatively new to the modern way of doing metal-free ceramics. Have done Lava now for two years with 100% success. My main account told me he's interested in Empress because of the better aesthetics. Well, I negotiated him down to e.max instead. I found 160 mPa a little frightening, knowing that the doc is pretty gutsy and will push the limits. So here's my plan: I found a lab in Illinois that would mill my copings. As I see it, all I'd have to buy to get started is the e.max Ceram Basic kit and the Essence kit, right? Do I miss anything? Is 4 working days in house reasonable for milling an e.max coping?

If/when the doc is happy with the results and shifts more and more from Lava towards e.max, I plan to buy a press furnace, maybe a few months down the road. Within my preferred price range I found the Ney Cerampress QEX for $3899 and the Whipmix Pro Press 100 for $3499. Which one would be the better choice?

My Ivoclar sales rep tells me that pressed e.max fit better than milled. Maybe the prospect of selling me the Ivoclar furnace has an impact on his statement? What do you think?

Seeing that the e.max Ceram porcelain itself is twice as expensive as the Noritake CZR that I use to complete my Lavas makes me wonder how the lab price level of the finished e.max milled/pressed compares to Lava or Pfm?

Hmm, lots of questions. Hope someone can enlighten me?

DMC

DMC

Banned
Reaction score
Milled on a Cerec......25-30 year old scanning technology.....3 Axis milling machine?

Yeah, I'd press over that.

There will be many new options for Emax soon. That material should be milled on a five-axis BEEFY CNC mill. That would be much better than press IMO.

The buzz over Emax may die down soon. There are new materials on the horizon.

TheLabGuy

TheLabGuy

Just a Member
Reaction score