Need advice - pressure pot for making ClearSplint?

P

PGon1977

Reaction score
I'm new to the lab side of the dental field and need some advice (which I will likely need quite a bit going forward - lol). Just picking up a case here and there to get some hands on training.

Last week I made my first 3 ClearSplints with Astron material using the flasking process. I didn't have a pressure pot at the time so I just stuck the flask with the entire press compress in the water on the stove.

Question 1: I clearly need a pressure pot. What pressure pot do you recommend?

Question 2: Once I get a pressure pot, I won't need to stick the entire unit (whole compress and all) in the water, right? I'll just put the actual flask part in?

For now this is the flask I have (I'm also open to suggestions about better flasks): https://www.amazon.com/Happybuy-Den...YCSVEO/ref=cm_sw_em_r_dp_dcs_IKgNyb65Y5TC3_tt

JKraver

JKraver

Reaction score
I'm new to the lab side of the dental field and need some advice (which I will likely need quite a bit going forward - lol). Just picking up a case here and there to get some hands on training.

Last week I made my first 3 ClearSplints with Astron material using the flasking process. I didn't have a pressure pot at the time so I just stuck the flask with the entire press compress in the water on the stove.

Question 2: Once I get a pressure pot, I won't need to stick the entire unit (whole compress and all) in the water, right? I'll just put the actual flask part in?

For now this is the flask I have (I'm also open to suggestions about better flasks): https://www.amazon.com/Happybuy-Den...YCSVEO/ref=cm_sw_em_r_dp_dcs_IKgNyb65Y5TC3_tt

I syringe inject and polymerize under 90psi never had an issue with the regular clearsplint. Flexible I heard has more of a PITA. It really couldn't hurt to use the flask and compress inside the pressure pot. Also if you are going to do any acrylic realistically you need a pressure pot that gets to 30psi.

JKraver