Multiple impressions for the same jaw/job [exocad]

apostolis159

apostolis159

Reaction score
Hello, newbie here.

I'm new to exocad and slowly finding my way around it.
I just got a new job, but the dentist provided two different impressions for the job.
I asked my retailer (also exocad support),and said it wasn't possible to merge two scans like that and I should treat them like two jobs (it's going to be laser sintered) and then join the two restorations.
Now, a quick google search told me that of course its possible to do such thing, but I cannot find a proper tutorial/explaination.
Exocad has a video on how to import an extra scan into a job, mentions that it's a similar technique for when a dentist has provided two impressions for the same job and there would be another video on it. But there isn't.

So, I'm asking you. Is there a reliably accurate way to do such thing?
For reference, I'm using a Smart Optics Vinyl and exocad. The job is a 44-47 bridge where the molar (47) is in a different impression as the 1st one didn't come out good enough.

Thanks in advance :)

JMN

JMN

Christian Member
Reaction score
Hello, newbie here.

I'm new to exocad and slowly finding my way around it.
I just got a new job, but the dentist provided two different impressions for the job.
I asked my retailer (also exocad support),and said it wasn't possible to merge two scans like that and I should treat them like two jobs (it's going to be laser sintered) and then join the two restorations.
Now, a quick google search told me that of course its possible to do such thing, but I cannot find a proper tutorial/explaination.
Exocad has a video on how to import an extra scan into a job, mentions that it's a similar technique for when a dentist has provided two impressions for the same job and there would be another video on it. But there isn't.

So, I'm asking you. Is there a reliably accurate way to do such thing?