mission clinic work

R

rkycdt

Reaction score
I recently posted my situation under General Discussion but I'd love to hear from some removable techs regarding one aspect specifically. I am a fixed technician but I was approached by the dental team from a local mission clinic to see if I would be interested in providing them with removable appliances, mostly dentures and flippers. They have in storage most of the necessary equipment which was donated to them from the dental lab program that I graduated from and that shut down a few years ago. I am the only lab in my town outside of an Aspen, but there are two adjacent cities within 30 to 60 miles with plenty of labs.

I am the only technician and I do not have much work so I am looking at learning something new and applying it regardless of what I choose......the other options being to invest in digital equipment to revive my fixed business, or shut down and move onto something else. Is it practical to consider the option of going into dentures? I've gotten a lot of feedback from other fixed technicians, but I'd love to know what the removable community thinks.

I care about the people involved with this and appreciate what they do and would love to see this succeed in my community which has a decent need for it. So, even if I am not their tech, I'd love to help steer them in the right direction. Does anyone here have any experience working with/for grant-funded non-profits like this?

Rtyrelw

Rtyrelw

Reaction score