Large PFM bridges cracking after glazing

J

jcdentalcc

Reaction score
I'm having some serious issues with large PFM bridges cracking right after glazing, I need advice to see how to correct this problems that has me very stressed. I've been doing large PFM cases for about 30 years with minimal problems, now for the last 6 months I'm having issues. All cases involve Rexillium III non-precious metal using Ceramco 3 porcelain. Rex III CTE (600 C) is14.3, Ceramco 3 ideal CTE is 14.4 - 14.9, CTE 13.9-14.4 requires no cooling and CTE 14.9-15.1 requires 2-3 minute cooling.
I have tried no cooling, slow cooling, fast cooling, taking it out at 1100 F and placing under a beaker, I've tried several methods and still the same results. Tonight after letting the bridge cool under a beaker until it reach room temperature I could hear the cracks as they happened. Any advice and suggestions would be appreciated.

G

grantoz

Reaction score
can we see some pictures it might help

CatamountRob

CatamountRob

Banned Member
Reaction score
If it’s not a CTE problem then I would look at your de-gassing/oxidation firing and the way you are treating the metal beforehand. Double check and make sure you are following the instructions to the letter.
Having said that, it’s been my experience that large masses of metal magnify CTE issues. What works fine on a single unit crown may not work when a large pontic or large implant structure is involved.

Last edited:
millennium

millennium

Donator
Reaction score
You have all kinds of cracking, horizontal and vertical. Maybe not enough metal support? Sharp edges in the incisal?
Also Rexillium has a very light oxide layer, maybe try a bonder before opaquing.

PCDL

PCDL

Reaction score
I would look at your degassing. Purge and calibrate your furnaces, check for contamination. With the variety of cracks, and the size, that would be my first thought. This is assuming you arent trying to hang 5+mm of porcelain off your framework.

Davor RDT

Davor RDT