• Welcome to Dental Lab Network

    Import Exocad design to 3Shape

    Discussion in 'Dental-CAD' started by Uliana, Apr 14, 2018.

    1. Uliana

      Uliana Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Jun 2016
      Messages:
      28
      Likes Received:
      0
      Hello.
      Is it possible to design in Exocad and then import designed case to 3Shape for final touches? Please advice how it works?
       
    2. dmonwaxa

      dmonwaxa Moderator Staff Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Jun 2009
      Messages:
      2,720
      Likes Received:
      250
      Location:
      TEXAS
      If 3Shape allows for stl import then maube yes l
       
    3. JMN
      Curious

      JMN Christian Member Staff Member Donator Full Member

      Joined:
      Sep 2012
      Messages:
      7,451
      Likes Received:
      1,651
      Location:
      In a surprisingly solid sea of electrons
      Why would you see this need? What tools is Exocad not giving you that you need from 3shape?

      Truly asking.
       
      • Like Like x 1
    4. CoolHandLuke
      Fiendish

      CoolHandLuke 40% titanium Staff Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Aug 2011
      Messages:
      7,525
      Likes Received:
      1,331
      3shape case data can be exported yes, in stl format if in the control panel you use the proper .dll file for the material. you can then import into exocad using the advanced features. i believe its called "extra scan" or something similar.

      but again i'm not entirely sure where you are going with this. more to JMN's question, why?
       
    5. Uliana

      Uliana Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Jun 2016
      Messages:
      28
      Likes Received:
      0
      As simple as we have a need to outsource designs when we are too busy. We found a cheap designer, but he is working in Exocad. I always have to check and adjust designs. So I need to know if I can import ready design back to 3Shape.


      Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
       
    6. CoolHandLuke
      Fiendish

      CoolHandLuke 40% titanium Staff Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Aug 2011
      Messages:
      7,525
      Likes Received:
      1,331
      once a design is done in 3shape, it can be brought into exocad.

      but 3shape does NOT allow *ANYONE* to import a design already done by an external party. 3shape will only allow you to import scans. if you have a design done by someone else, you cannot use that design in 3shape.
       
      • Informative Informative x 1
    7. Uliana

      Uliana Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Jun 2016
      Messages:
      28
      Likes Received:
      0
      I see, I thought so, but wanted to make sure. Thank you!!


      Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
       
    8. cadfan
      Amused

      cadfan Well-Known Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Jul 2013
      Messages:
      1,373
      Likes Received:
      213
      Location:
      Germany
      bull**** and waisted time one is the desin format file the other is a stl for production different file formats different tools. but try it out
       
    9. reqvaa
      Energetic

      reqvaa Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Jan 2013
      Messages:
      72
      Likes Received:
      7
      Location:
      Irkutsk, Russia
      Do you need another cheap designer, but with 3shape? )))
       
      • Winner Winner x 1
    10. Uliana

      Uliana Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Jun 2016
      Messages:
      28
      Likes Received:
      0
      We can try. Do you mean yourself? Can you give me your what’s up number please?


      Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
       

    Share This Page