• Welcome to Dental Lab Network

    How to save 3shape digital files to Mac compatible

    Discussion in 'Dental-CAD' started by Wilbur, Jul 6, 2018.

    1. Wilbur
      Curious

      Wilbur Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Jul 2017
      Messages:
      22
      Likes Received:
      1
      hey there,

      Please can someone explain to me how to change . (.exe) to Mac compatible files. I have some doctors who can’t view their digital studymodels.

      I’m a bit of technophobe clearly!

      Thanks in advance,

      Wilbur
       
    2. rookiee

      rookiee Active Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Oct 2013
      Messages:
      119
      Likes Received:
      12
      If files are in STL any viewer will do just fine and on Mac I think you can open them by default...not seating behind mac right now so I can't check it...if they are DCM files then you need to convert them or save them as STL and not DCM.
       
    3. Sevan P
      Relaxed

      Sevan P Well-Known Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Jun 2012
      Messages:
      2,918
      Likes Received:
      648
      Location:
      Encino, CA
      There is no way to change exe to dmg or app, completely different . Just have them download a free stl viewer.
       
      • Agree Agree x 1
    4. Contraluz

      Contraluz Well-Known Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Mar 2011
      Messages:
      607
      Likes Received:
      204
      Location:
      Virginia
      I just did that this afternoon. STL files open just fine on a Mac.
       
    5. Wilbur
      Curious

      Wilbur Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Jul 2017
      Messages:
      22
      Likes Received:
      1
      Why can’t Mac users view the stl files on the 3shape ortho viewer?

      Thanks
       
    6. Wilbur
      Curious

      Wilbur Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Jul 2017
      Messages:
      22
      Likes Received:
      1
      Hi

      What stl viewer did you use that works best for Mac users?

      Thanks
       
    7. Contraluz

      Contraluz Well-Known Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Mar 2011
      Messages:
      607
      Likes Received:
      204
      Location:
      Virginia
      Hey Wilbur

      Preview will do it. I just tried it, double clicked a .stl file and boom, there it is (see attached image of a screen shot). You will be able to move it, zoom in and twirl it around...

      stl - preview.png
       
    8. Wilbur
      Curious

      Wilbur Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Jul 2017
      Messages:
      22
      Likes Received:
      1
      Thanks Contraluz,

      Is there any possible way to export the model set in one stl file - with out 3shape splitting the files into a separate upper and separate lower file?

      Wilbur
       
    9. Contraluz

      Contraluz Well-Known Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Mar 2011
      Messages:
      607
      Likes Received:
      204
      Location:
      Virginia
      That I can't answer you. My knowledge is rather limited ... But I can try it and see what happens. But that has to wait a bit... ;-)
       

    Share This Page