Drill compensation for full dentures.

nvarras

nvarras

Reaction score
I'm just trying to wrap my head around this. Is there anything out there that I can read about the subject? My mill uses a 1.0mm bur for the intaglio. 3shape came set at .8. What is the reasoning for this and is there a more accurate setting that i can use. I am new to milling if you couldn't tell...

user name

user name

Reaction score
3Shape was assuming you were going to use a .6 bur perhaps?
On crowns using a 1.0 mm bur for the intaglio, Im set at 1.2.

@brayks ??

2thm8kr

2thm8kr

Beanosavedmysociallife
Reaction score
I find 1.1-1.2 works great in exocad settings(1mm roughing). However, that is stacked on top of all the other setting for the design...

zero_zero

zero_zero

Reaction score
You might want to look into your cutting strategies and tooling instead...just sayin'

CoolHandLuke

CoolHandLuke

Idiot
Solutions
Reaction score
drill compensation for anything should be set at 110%-120% of the Bur RADIUS; so in a diameter 1.0mm finishing tool, drill compensation should be between 0.55 and 0.6mm. on a denture however this still leaves a lot of high spots and rough edges, and you can tell it leaves these by running a cotton ball around the rim of the denture once its out of the mill. there will be catches. due to spiral patterns and uneven surfaces, the surface quality will also have left many topical lines. you will not get those smoothed off with the finishing pass, it will take a specially devised second finishing pass to remove those lines. the majority of CAM don't really do that and i'd recommend it only on a 2mm intaglio finishing pass.

i'd bet that 3shape setting of 0.8mm was thinking the final finishing would be done with a 2mm tool.

sidesh0wb0b

sidesh0wb0b

Donator
Reaction score