difference btwn CDT and RDT?

M

mkim8721

Reaction score
what is the difference between CDT and RDT?

TheLabGuy

TheLabGuy

Just a Member
Reaction score
Certified Dental Technician-Means you took the comprehensive exam, written speciality exam and then the practical and passed all those. RDT- Means you went to a recognized school for 2years or 4 years in Dental Technology and decided to go that route to get your CDT license. If my memory serves me right, the RDT's don't have to take the comprehensive exam, but will still have to take the written and practical to acheive their RDT/CDT title. Hope this helps.

RetainerDesigner

RetainerDesigner

Reaction score
Hmmm..interesting. I went to a recognized dental lab school and when I graduated from that program I received my RG (recognized Graduate). Is that what you mean by RDT? TheLabGuy is right, we dont take the comprehensive exam. Our final exam, that you have to pass to graduate, is the substitute for the comprehensive. So when I took my CDT test I only had to take the written specialty and the practical. As far as my paperwork shows, I became CDT with an RG.
I dont know of any RDT, unless they have changed it, if they have then I need to order all new business cards!:eek:

E

elizzy

Reaction score
RDT is the Canadian It means registered with a gov't authority. Most provences have a Registar. There are different qualifications to be RDT most include traditional (formal) education. Our CDT is voluntary and bassed on assessments of skill and knowledge. In the US how you aquire the skill and knowledge isn't tied to a specific delivery mechinism.
elizzy

M

mkim8721

Reaction score
then....

thx for all ur replies! does CDT have any restrictions? because i think RDT doesnt have any restrictions...:confused:

TheLabGuy

TheLabGuy

Just a Member
Reaction score