DESS Ti Base Geometry for Nobel Active Implants

• Thread starter Brett Hansen CDT
  • Start date
Brett Hansen CDT

Brett Hansen CDT

Reaction score
I am restoring 12-15 with a PFM screw retained bridge. There are two Nobel Active 5.5 implants in 14 and 15 and one Nobel active 4.3 implant in 13. I ordered a non-engaging ti base from Dess for 13 and two engaging Ti bases for 14 and 15 since DESS doesn't IMG_1646.jpg make non-engaging ti bases for the 5.5 implant. I cut the engaging part off the 5.5 ti bases and then we fabricated the metal framework for a try in. The picture you see is from the try in. The doctor is wondering why 14 and 15 look like a "platform switch" where 13 does not have that same look. Does it matter? Is there a reason for this? This is my first time restoring a screw retained bridge with these parts. The patient in this case has a very high dental IQ and we want to make sure we can answer any questions if they arise. I would also just like to know for my own personal education. Thanks!

DESS-USA

DESS-USA

Reaction score
All of the Nobel Active platforms are platform switched. I would assume if the dentist had a digital xray he could enlarge #13 and see the platform switch on the 4.3 platform.

The geometries of both the engaging and non engaging ti bases will be the same above the implant.

DESS does have non engaging 5.5 Nobel Active ti bases also - https://www.dess-usa.com/ti-base-engaging-5-5-wp-16-069-nobel-active-compatible/

DanM

DanM

Reaction score
Does cutting the hex off concern anybody? I know we've all done it when we have had to but with now so many options for components it seems like its less necessary. I have a dr that sends me stock abutments and wants me to cut the hex off for screw retained bridges. So for now I just note it on the invoice that dr requested hex removed.

DESS-USA

DESS-USA

Reaction score