• Welcome to Dental Lab Network
    1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

    Crown over Ti Base

    Discussion in 'Dental-CAD' started by sndmn2, Jan 11, 2018.

    1. sndmn2

      sndmn2 Well-Known Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Apr 2010
      Messages:
      502
      Likes Received:
      104
      I designed a case with two separate crowns , not connected, on one case. I set it up on the order form as if it was through Argen . Designed the case and milled the zirconia in house and ordered the Ti bases from Argen. Both crowns fit nicely on the bases but did not index correctly on the model. . Not a full rotation about a half. Should I just scan the bases as a die? Any thoughts before I try again ? Thanks.
       
    2. Sevan P
      Nerdy

      Sevan P Well-Known Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Jun 2012
      Messages:
      2,757
      Likes Received:
      592
      Location:
      Encino, CA
      Double. Check your scan against the scan bodies on the model, either not seated or alignment o f the body is off. Did you scan the markers with the tissue on or off? Never had an issue with argen yet.

      Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
       
    3. A. M.

      A. M. New Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Jan 2018
      Messages:
      5
      Likes Received:
      2
      If you scan the base as a die, the fit is not gonna be great.
      I agree with Sevan P... either not seated or the alignment was off.
      I usually scan it without the soft tissue with the scanbody, and after I remove the scanbody I scan again with the tissue...
      Might be a crazy idea, but you can get non engaging part too...
       
    4. sndmn2

      sndmn2 Well-Known Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Apr 2010
      Messages:
      502
      Likes Received:
      104
      I did the marker scan without tissue in place. Funny part was the base looked correct ( position of the dimple ) in the design phase when looking for a reason for the problem last night. I have a done a couple of these in the past with Argen when I have just sent my scans with no problem.
       
    5. A. M.

      A. M. New Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Jan 2018
      Messages:
      5
      Likes Received:
      2
      Then I guess the scan body was not all the way down...
      Try to scan again, design, and mill from wax or pmma to check...
       
    6. NYJHL
      Amazed

      NYJHL Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Sep 2016
      Messages:
      71
      Likes Received:
      8
      would double check the scan marker alignment
      although the no implant scan the ti base as an abutment works fine too
       
    7. zero_zero
      Hot

      zero_zero Well-Known Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Mar 2013
      Messages:
      4,233
      Likes Received:
      1,313
      Location:
      Canuckistan, eh!
      Cut off the dimple, problem solved...also take a look at that implant library, the scan-body might need to be derotated to match the dimple position on the Ti base.
       
    8. sndmn2

      sndmn2 Well-Known Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Apr 2010
      Messages:
      502
      Likes Received:
      104
      I believe you guys to be correct. A side by side comparison reveals the truth.
       

      Attached Files:

      • Like Like x 1
    9. KentPWalton
      Tired

      KentPWalton Well-Known Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Apr 2012
      Messages:
      1,654
      Likes Received:
      234
      Location:
      Down South
      More than likely your scan body alignment wasn't correct. Then double check to make sure that the scan body was seated all the way down in the scan. That's why I always scan the scan body with the tissue out!
       
      • Like Like x 1

    Share This Page