Basic Implant Prepping and Customizing Help

T

TripL3

Reaction score
Hey!

I am a 5 year exp tech (primarily C&B waxer and e.max/metal framework) who was just recently introduced to implant fabrication and I was just wondering if anyone knows any books or sources for where I can obtain basic to advanced info on the fabrication of implants. I've fab'd billions of cementable restorations on implant abuments but only until recently have I done preps on titanium abutments. I've been doing the preps with a high speed handpiece with 2 kinds of carbide burs (FG-558, FG-1158, never done milling or CAD/CAM) and fabricated several custom abutments. I have trouble making them parallel, and aren't entirely sure what tools to use. The only knowledge I've had was from previous in-person observations of fellow experienced co-workers working on them and a few tips on how to do it.

Yes, I am a pure amateur at this, so please excuse my epic fail on implant knowledge :(

I'm specifically looking to know the official 'textbook' method of implants such as:

- knowledge of the several aspects regarding the implant such as the analog, impression coping, soft tissue models, etc
- implant identification
- parallelism
- single and multi-abutment comprehensive prep guide
- what a surveyer is
- how to use a surveyer
- margin guide
- in-depth guide to customizing, sprueing, casting, and finishing abutments
- anything else I should know

Even small bits of advice, or 1 sentence tips will be appreciated! Thank you DLN community :D

Brett Hansen CDT

Brett Hansen CDT

Reaction score
JoChen's site is a great resource.