My First (Restoring) Implant Case

P

patmo141

Sponsors
Reaction score
Ok, here goes. My first ever real case presentation. I'm very excited to get the opportunity to restore some posterior implants at school. This case is just getting started and I need to get in the habit of good documentation so consider this a practice run. I'm a 3rd year dental student and the implant placement and surgical phase of this will be handled by our perio department here at school. We use Straumann tissue level for the most part in the posterior but the final decision will be made after CT scan and consult with perio department.

Healthy 39 yo male. No contributory medical history. This patient was transferred to me with all his restorative work complete and his chief complaint was "I want the spaces in the posterior filled, and I would like to whiten and possibly take care of the chips in the front."

I'll post more pictures as we go on :) No need to go easy on me, this is my first case presentation and my goal is to get feedback. One small disclaimer...I took these clincal photos by myself (no one to blow air) with a Pentax Optio W80 which was included in our instrument distribution (a water resistant point and shoot camera). Some of the model shots were with a Canon T3 w/ Ring Flash and 100mm macro lens.

[PICASA="104261288860868281952"]CasePresentation[/PICASA]

Some questions that I see popping up....

Q: OMG is he wearing a night guard appliance?
A: Yes, it was given to him about a year ago by his previous student dentist. Headaches, neck aches and facial muscle pain and muscles of mastication soreness have all been reduced. Patient also reports lowering stress in his life.

Q: Hmm..those cervical toothbrush/abfraction lesions look suspicious. What's the plan there?